Skip to contents

대한민국의 기적, 이제는 나눔으로

Beautiful Sharing, Wonderful Growing

> What is ODA > Development Agenda

Development Agenda

Aid Effectiveness

HLF1: The First High Level Forum on Aid Effectiveness (Rome, 2002)

The First High Level Forum was significant in that the principles of aid effectiveness were established as an important development agenda for the first time. With the aim of harmonizing aid policies and procedures of donors with partner country systems and thus improving aid effectiveness, the Rome Declaration on Harmonization was adopted. The Declaration presented following actions as priorities: 1) delivering development assistance in accordance with partner country priorities, 2) intensifying donor efforts to work through delegated cooperation and increasing the flexibility of country-based staff, and 3) encouraging and monitoring good practices, backed by analytical work to enhance partner countries’ leadership and ownership of development results.

HLF2: The Second High Level Forum on Aid Effectiveness (Paris, 2005)

The Second High Level Forum was the first occasion at which donors and recipients reached a consensus on development commitments and on mutual accountability. The Paris Declaration on Aid Effectiveness was endorsed at the Forum, setting out five overarching principles to achieve greater aid effectiveness: ownership, alignment, harmonization, managing for results, and mutual accountability.

HLF3: The Third High Level Forum on Aid Effectiveness (Accra, 2008)

The Third High Level Forum called attention to the importance of civil society’s role in improving aid effectiveness, as delegates of governments and international organizations were joined by representatives of civil society. The Accra Agenda for Action (AAA) was adopted at the Forum, which outlined the areas of improvement and set the agenda for development cooperation in order to accelerate the implementation of the Paris targets. The four areas for improvement presented in the Agenda are: reinforcement of country ownership, establishment of inclusive partnerships, delivery of results, and capacity development.

HLF4: The Fourth High Level Forum on Aid Effectiveness (Busan, 2011)

The Fourth High Level Forum was the largest ever meeting on development assistance, bringing together more than 3,000 delegates from 160 countries and 70 international organizations. It was also attended by the highest-ranking representatives in the Forum’s history. The delegates assessed and shared the progress made toward implementing the Paris targets, and discussed the development of a more inclusive aid effectiveness framework, along with the post-Busan agenda. The Korean government took the initiative in building consensus for effective development cooperation that goes beyond previous dialogue on aid effectiveness. Moreover, Korea engaged in active diplomatic efforts to forge a more inclusive partnership for development cooperation joined by new development actors such as emerging economies, civil society organizations, and private companies.

MDGs and Results

Millennium Development Goals (MDGs)

The Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), consisting of 8 goals and 21 targets, were officially announced in June 2001. They were developed as concrete action plans for the implementation of the Millennium Declaration, which was adopted by 189 countries at the 55th UN General Assembly in September 2000. The eight MDG goals are: 1) to eradicate extreme poverty and hunger, 2) to achieve universal primary education, 3) to promote gender equality and empower women, 4) to reduce child mortality, 5) to improve maternal health, 6) to combat HIV/AIDs, malaria and other diseases, 7) to ensure environmental sustainability, and 8) to develop a global partnership for development. It is particularly notable that the MDG target of reducing extreme poverty by half was met in 2010, five years ahead of the 2015 deadline.


Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)

The concept of sustainable development is defined by the UN as “development that meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs.” It is a future-oriented development in which a balance among economic development, social progress, and environmental protection is achieved. As the successor of the MDGs, the SDGs are the new development agenda for 2016-2030, which calls for extensive global efforts to end poverty. There are 17 SDGs with 169 targets.

  1. No Poverty
  2. Zero Hunger
  3. Good Health and Well-being
  4. Quality Education
  5. Gender Equality
  6. Clean Water and Sanitation
  7. Affordable and Clean Energy
  8. Decent Work and Economic Growth
  9. Industry, Innovation and Infrastructure
  10. Reduced Inequality
  11. Sustainable Cities and Communities
  12. Responsible Consumption and Production
  13. Climate Action
  14. Life Below Water
  15. Life on Land
  16. Peace, Justice and Strong Institutions
  17. Partnership for the Goals